TREC handles licensing for two types of real estate sales professionals because in Texas there are two main types of licenses to sell real estate. The first is a real estate sales agent license. The second is a real estate agent license. Licensees must meet Continuing Education (CE) requirements during each two-year license period.
CE must include 4 hours of Legal Update I, 4 hours of Legal Update II, 3 hours of contract-related courses and 7 hours of CE elective courses for a total of 18 hours. To determine how many hours have been posted to your license record, you can visit our Licensee Search. The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) requires you to complete the following five steps to obtain a Texas real estate sales agent license. Watch the steps below and watch our video to help visualize the process.
It's such a complex process that most people generally seek help from real estate agents and brokers when selling or buying a property. It provides a study of the legal concepts of real estate, land description, real property rights, land properties, contracts, transfers, liens, foreclosures, registration procedures, and evidence of title. A minimum of 180 hours of real estate instructional class, comprising five required courses, is required to sit for the Texas Real Estate Sale License Exam. Apply for a real estate license with the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) using the TREC online licensing service.
A broker is prohibited from sharing fees with the attorney acting as the buyer's agent or otherwise compensating the buyer, unless the lawyer has an active real estate license. To become a Texas real estate agent, you'll need to perform a Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) background check. A licensed real estate broker is a person who provides real estate services to another person in exchange for a commission. A study of real estate professionalism and ethics; the characteristics of successful sellers; time management; marketing psychology; listing procedures; advertising; negotiation and closing of financing; and the Deceptive Business Practices Act, Consumer Protection Act and the Commercial Code.
The commission has the right to suspend or revoke a licensee who has not respected real estate laws throughout Texas. Obtaining a real estate license in Texas can seem like a daunting task due to the requirement of 180 hours of education. If you are interested in obtaining a license in the state, you will need to meet all current licensing requirements, regardless of whether you have a real estate license from another state. The purpose of this club is to expand the knowledge of Austin Community College students about real estate as an industry and as a career.
Typically, a broker is a licensed real estate professional who assists a seller or buyer of a property. Conducting real estate brokerage activities with an inactive license is considered a sanctionable offence. To take the Texas Real Estate exam, the applicant must complete 180 hours of course work as set forth by the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC).