Texas Sales Agent Education Requirements If you are looking for a Texas sales agent license, TREC (Texas Real Estate Commission) requires the following qualified education classes (180 hours total) before taking the real estate exam and applying for a license. CE must include 4 hours of Legal Update I, 4 hours of Legal Update II, 3 hours of contract-related courses and 7 hours of CE elective courses for a total of 18 hours. To determine how many hours have been posted to your license record, you can visit our Licensee Search. The Texas Legislature established the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) in 1949 to protect consumers in real estate transactions and valuation services.
TREC shares staff members and resources with the Texas Assessor Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB), established as a separate subdivision of TREC in 1991, when federal law required greater regulation of appraisals. Together, TREC and TALCB oversee real estate brokerage, real estate appraisals, inspections, right-of-way services and timeshare. The agency provides licensing, education and complaint investigation services, as well as regulation and enforcement of state laws and requirements that govern each of these areas of service to consumers in Texas. If the broker appoints an associate licensee to represent the seller and another associate licensee to represent the buyer, the individual agents can offer advice and opinions on the real estate transaction to the party each has been appointed to represent.
Technically, the Texas Real Estate Commission authorizes a real estate agent to act on behalf of a licensed broker. The course has been designed to provide students with all the information they need to pass questions on topics related to the Agency Act in the state and national parts of the Texas Real Estate Sales Agent exam. Yes, if the real estate business entity has a real estate license and the sales agent is sponsored by that entity. Adhering to the Code of Ethics isn't the only way real estate agents differentiate themselves from real estate licensees.
Conducting real estate brokerage activities with an inactive license is considered a sanctionable offence. Must be 18 years of age or older, a Texas resident, permanent resident, or U.S. citizen, and must meet the Texas Real Estate Commission's standards of integrity, reliability, and honesty. You'll also need to be at least 18 years old, complete specific real estate courses, pass an exam (or two, depending on the license), and undergo a criminal background check.
Before a person can sell real property in Texas, they must have a license from the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) as a seller and be sponsored by an established broker. The course provides students with a broad basic understanding of real estate terminology and professional obligations. Yes, unless the person is an employee of the apartment owner or is otherwise exempt, residential rental locators must be licensed as a real estate agent or sales agent. During the 15-21 business days that TREC normally takes to process your real estate license application, you can simultaneously start step six.
The commission has the right to suspend or revoke a licensee who has not respected real estate laws throughout Texas. The course will teach you the ins and outs of contract forms promulgated by the Texas Real Estate Commission. Getting your Texas real estate license isn't as intensive or as expensive as getting a bachelor's degree, but there is a process that needs to be followed and the requirements that need to be met. Both Texas real estate agents and realtors who are renewing their licenses must complete 18 hours of approved continuing education courses.